Florida No Fault Car Insurance Law
When it comes to car insurance, Florida stands out. This is because unlike many other states, Florida requires all drivers to purchase and carry an auto insurance policy providing two types of coverage: Property Damage Liability (PDL) and Personal Injury Protection (PIP). And it’s not enough to just have these two types coverage, you must also have a minimum coverage amount of $10,000.
What Do These Types of Coverage Imply?
Your Property Damage Liability insurance will cover any damage that you, a member of your family or individual driving your car cause to another person’s property while driving. For instance, if you drive your car over your neighbor’s flowerbed, your PDL insurance will cover the damages caused. However, if your car is also damaged, the PDL insurance will not pay for these damages. In fact, even though Florida requires you to carry more insurance than most states, interestingly it does not require you to insure your own car.
Personal Injury Protection insurance, on the other hand, provides coverage to you, your family and individuals riding in your car in the case that you or they sustain injuries during an accident. In Florida, if you own a car you must have PIP insurance. This insurance extends beyond car crashes and will include pedestrians and bikers injured by motor vehicles.
Even if you are at fault for the accident, your PIP insurance will kick in – thus the name "no fault insurance". This is what makes Florida unique. The advantages of having a no fault insurance system are several. For one, it keeps monthly premiums down by offering fast payouts on behalf of negligent drivers. It also keeps the stress and costs of having to file a lawsuit to a minimum.
That being said, however, there are also drawbacks. For example, there are cases where medical clinics take advantage of the quick PIP payouts by exaggerating injuries in order to reach the $10,000.00 maximum. There are also many instances where one’s injuries exceed the $10,000.00 level, thus requiring legal action.
If you or a loved one has been injured in a motor vehicle accident, Florida’s no fault insurance laws could impact your recovery. To ensure you get the compensation you deserve, always consult the advice of an experienced Florida personal injury attorney. To schedule your free initial consultation, contact the Law Offices of James O. Cunningham, P.A. today at 877-FL-INJURY (877-354-6587).
- Orlando Motorcyclist Killed in Early Morning Hit-and-Run Collision with SUV
October 18, 2020
- Wiegand Family Moving Forward with Royal Caribbean Wrongful Death Lawsuit
October 17, 2020
- Florida DHSMV Indicates a Recent Rise in Orlando Car Accidents
October 15, 2020
- Motorcyclist Killed in Marion County Collision with Dump Truck on State Road 40
October 13, 2020
- St. Cloud Crossing Guard Seriously Injured in Near-Fatal Crosswalk Collision
October 12, 2020
- Orlando Style Magazine Selects James O. Cunningham as the Orlando Personal Injury Attorney of the Year
October 9, 2020
- business5Mr. Cunningham is an excellent and knowledgeable attorney.
I would and have recommended Mr. Cunningham as an attorney. I am extremely happy with the service he has provided for me and my family. I will definately use Mr. Cunningham in the future if I ever need an attorney again.
- John, a Personal Injury client0.3